hip girl boutique 1" metallic gold gliter sparkle ribbon
hip girl boutique grosgrain ribbon wrapped headbands for girls women baby toddler
hip girl boutique goody ponytail pigtail holder for women girl toddler baby

Go Back   Hip Girl Boutique Free Hair Bow Instructions--Learn how to make hairbows and hair clips, FREE! > Sew A Lot > How To Sew...

How To Sew... Patterns, tutorials, questions...

Old 04-29-2010, 12:01

Default Would you buy a reconditioned sewing machine?

So, I'd love to get into sewing, and I am a complete beginner. I talked to my MIL about wanting to start sewing, and she told me about a Brother 14 stitch sewing machine on sale at Big Lots for $59. But, when I looked it up on their website, it says it is a "reconditioned" sewing machine.

So, would you buy it? Or do you think I'm better off going with something else.

If anyone could suggest any alternatives, I'd appreciate the advise! ( I want to stay under $100, though, since I am just beginning.)

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Old 04-29-2010, 12:04

Default Re: Would you buy a reconditioned sewing machine?

I bought a sewing machine from an estate sale last September when I was just starting out and it has been wonderful, I've had no problems with it! Of course, I only paid $20 for it so I wouldn't have been too upset about something going wrong! It was a great starter machine and I am still using it while drooling over some of the new models and the sergers! I say if you're just starting out you would be best off with a reconditioned machine or one bought from a estate sale or yard sale to see if you like it enough to invest more money!
Old 04-29-2010, 12:11

All that could mean is someone got it home opened the box then changed their mind. They can't sell open boxes for full price. I say go for it. Some timed this is what kinda things I look at first. You can GET SOME GOOD DEALS.
Old 04-29-2010, 12:22