http://www.hipgirlclips.com/affiliate_alt_ads/jewelboxballerina-800.jpg

Go Back   Hip Girl Boutique Free Hair Bow Instructions--Learn how to make hairbows and hair clips, FREE! > Ribbon and Bows > How to make...

How to make... Hairbows, hair clips, bottlecaps, ribbon shirts, flip flop...

Old 09-03-2010, 09:14

Question Tutu Suggestions! Helppppp!

Okay, I've only been in the biz since March, so I'm still pretty new at this...

This is the first tutu I've made specifically for someone. (it's actually my cousin's daughter!) Anyway, on to the point.

I asked her to measure her around her waist and from her waist down to where she wants it to hit on her leg, seeing as it is for ballet and I wanted to make sure it covered everything appropriately!

Her measurements were 20in on the waist about about 7-8in long. So, my question is, how long do I cut the tulle to make sure it is long enough? I knot my tutus, and I know that that makes it a bit shorter and if I make it full, it isn't going to lay straight down, so cutting 14in tulle isn't going to give me 7in down her leg!

So what do you guys think???

Sorry.... I'm long winded! haha
Sponsored Links
http://www.hipgirlclips.com/affiliate_alt_ads/whimsydoodlegraphics.gif
Old 09-03-2010, 09:22

Default Re: Tutu Suggestions! Helppppp!

I add 2" to make up for that knot. If you want 7 in length I would cut 16 but that is just me. HTH
Old 09-03-2010, 09:26

I always add 2 inches after I double it to take into consideration the knot. Hope that makes sense

For waist I minus two inches to account for stretching of the elastic. So for the measurements you are talking about I would make the waist 18 inches, then make the tulle min 18 inches long. That seems awfully short to me though. How old is she? I just say that because you mentioned it's for ballet, which means I would assume she is at least a toddler? For my size two tutus I measure them at least 21 to 23 inches in length of each piece of tulle.
Old 09-03-2010, 10:44