http://www.hipgirlclips.com/store/images/mini-pinwheel-bow-snap-clips-22pc.jpg
New product--3' everyday (pinwheel) hair bow/hairbow clips

New products--grosgrain ribbon mini bows
http://www.hipgirlclips.com/affiliate_alt_ads/peony-hair-flower-clips-red-ad.jpg
New product--Silk Geraniums

Go Back   Hip Girl Boutique Free Hair Bow Instructions--Learn how to make hairbows and hair clips, FREE! > Ribbon and Bows > How to make...

How to make... Hairbows, hair clips, bottlecaps, ribbon shirts, flip flop...

Old 03-17-2009, 10:46

Default Total newbie! What's the clear wire used to attach bows to clips

Hi, I'm a complete newbie here. I decided I need to learn to make my own hair bows for my daughter instead of buying them. I bought a korker barette and noticed it had clear wire wrapping the bow to the barette. Is that floral wire? I thought floral wire was green and really stiff wire whereas this is somewhat soft, but not stretchy wire.

I've seen websites mention using a lighter to heat seal the ends. Do you just hold the flame right under the ribbon ends but don't touch the ribbon?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Old 03-17-2009, 10:55

Default Re: Total newbie! What's the clear wire used to attach bows to clips

it could be the clear string like is used to make jewelry...can't recall the name of it. or fishing line maybe? I dont like using either for anything..can't get a knot to stay in it right. LOL
Old 03-17-2009, 11:24

Quote:
Originally Posted by amandanmv View Post
it could be the clear string like is used to make jewelry...can't recall the name of it. or fishing line maybe? I dont like using either for anything..can't get a knot to stay in it right. LOL
When you mentioned fishing line, I asked my hubby and he said yes, it looks like it. So what do you use to attach bows to french barettes?