View Single Post
Old 12-13-2010, 09:34
Default Re: Need cheer bow help

I can not thank you enough for posting this detailed responce! I have made cheer bows for our local high school 2 years now, but just done a boutique bows. I now have a bigger high school outside of my area wanting this type of cheer bow, which I have never tried before. I've seen them and always figured that the sparkle had to be fabric, just wasn't sure how it all came together. I have till Friday to get one of these made for an example, and your direction below are of MUCH NEEDED help. THANKS!!

Originally Posted by Blkhawkfan View Post
Hi there,
I originally followed the NBNG's cheer bow tutorial when I first started making bows, but tweaked my method to fit my schedule and needs. However, I have stuck with the NBNG method for sequins, because after some trial and error, there really is no good way to deal with sequin layers. Your bows will be stiff, but in my experience, as well as some others, cheerleaders/cheer coaches want stiff bows. They don't flop, nor get crushed during stunts, tumbling, and jumps. They stand up to cheering, plus as part of the uniform, show off a little bling to the judges and the crowd.
Sequins normally require bonding to a like-colored ribbon because the fabric itself is semi-sheer. If bonded to ribbon, the color is bright and stands out. If sequin fabric is does not have a like-colored ribbon behind it, then the layer looks bad, as if you skipped a step or cut corners when fabricating the bow because you will see less of the sequin color when the lights hit it, or even the pattern of ribbon behind the sequin layer.