View Single Post
Old 07-08-2011, 10:19
Default A word about bottle caps

Capping is not a FAST craft and I have been capping for about 3 yrs, trust me when I say I have ruined HUNDREDS of caps and images. Recently I have had many of the same questions in my private messages and emails. First let me say this, with no malice or disrespect meant at all, you need to learn a process that WORKS FOR is not an overnight success in all cases so with that said, here are things that I HAVE LEARNED (not all my secrets, for that you can purchase my upcoming tutorial hint hint)

DISCLAIMER ~ You dont have to agree with my suggestions or even try them, some have other ways, I am just posting b.c I have had so many with the same questions lately

1 ~ if you want the finished, hardened glass looking caps, dome stickers will not give you this affect, you need to use RESIN of some kind, there are many and they work differently depending on your climate, hvac system, what your images are printed on and how you hold your mouth when you use them (my DH says that I need to write a tutorial on the proper tongue and mouth position and contortions for my various bow and jewelry techniques......haha funny little man)

2 ~ how you get the image to stick and how you seal it is again, trial and error, some use glaze, some use modge podge, what works best for me and is a GOD SEND to my capping, is the xyron sticker machine that you can pic up for less than $10 at WalMart, Michaels etc, you get the picture......AND INVEST IN THE PERMANENT ADHESIVE dont need the BIG one, just get the one that is shaped like an X (mine is purple b.c purple rocks but it comes in other colors too)